Raskin nomination to Treasury out of committee

  • Bookmark and Share
  • RSS Feed
  • Email a friend
  • Print this page
Dec. 16, 2013 – Sarah Bloom Raskin’s nomination as Treasury deputy secretary, to replace Neal Wolin, was approved Friday by the Senate Finance Committee and could win final approval before the Senate adjourns for the year.

Raskin, who joined the Federal Reserve Board in 2010, was nominated to the Treasury post in July after Wolin announced plans to step down. He left the Treasury post in August. Presuming she is confirmed for Treasury, Raskin’s departure from the Fed will leave a vacancy for a term that continues through January 2016.

Senate Majority Leader  Harry Reid, D-Nev., said the Senate is expected to take up votes on Raskin and other nominees this month. The Senate is expected to clear Raskin’s nomination as well as that of Janet Yellen to succeed Ben Bernanke Federal Reserve Board chair.