Some shuffling of House Financial services posts

Jan. 23, 2013 – Three subcommittee chairmanships within the House Financial Services Committee are changing hands this year, in part to deal with the departures of Judy Biggert, R-Ill., and Ron Paul, R-Texas.

Biggert lost her bid for reelection last year, while Paul eschewed a run for another House term to pursue a bid for the presidency.

House Financial Services Chairman Jeb Hensarling, R-Texas, released the list of subcommittee assignments Tuesday. Subcommittee chairs are as follows:

  • Scott Garret, R-N.J., Capital Markets and Government Sponsored Enterprises (unchanged);
  • Shelley Moore Capito, R-W.Va., Financial Institutions and Consumer Credit (unchanged);
  • Randy Neugebauer, R-Texas, Insurance and Housing (replaces Biggert);
  • John  Campbell, R-Calif., Domestic and International Monetary Policy (replaces Paul);
  • Patrick McHenry, R-N.C., Oversight and Investigations (replaces Neugebauer).

Both Hensarling and Rep. Spencer Bachus, R-Ala., formerly chair of the full committee, will serve as “ex officio” members of all subcommittees, Hensarling said. Bachus, the full committee’s “chairman emeritus,” will also serve as a voting member on the financial institutions and capital markets subcommittees.

Rep. Gary Miller, R-Calif., is the full committee vice chair.

Several House panels, including Financial Services, hold organizational meetings this week.