Paul Revere Award

The Paul Revere Award is given to the credit union grassroots advocate of the year.  This award is intended for the advocate who regularly and effectively trumpets the battle cry of the credit union community.  The award is based on the grassroots contacts made by individual advocates and reported to NAFCU.  The award is presented at NAFCU's Congressional Caucus.


The following criteria must be met to be a candidate for The Paul Revere Award:

  • Candidates must be from NAFCU-member credit unions.  
  • Candidates for The Paul Revere Award should have held at least two meetings during 2014 or 2015 with each of their members of Congress (two Senators and one Representative). Qualifying meetings include: events with congressional staff; town hall meetings; fundraisers; and meetings in Washington, the local district or state offices.
  • Candidates for The Paul Revere Award should promptly respond to all NAFCU Grassroots Alerts by completing the actions requested, such as: phone calls, e-mails and letters to their legislators. 
  • Candidates should regularly be in contact with NAFCU to ensure that they have the most up-to-date legislative and regulatory information.

Note: Special consideration will be given to those individuals who have invited their members of Congress for credit union tours or are politically active either with congressional campaigns, or organizing and attending political fundraisers. 

For more information on the Paul Revere Award, or for additional information on how your credit union can support NAFCU through our grassroots programs, please contact NAFCU's Associate Director of Political Affairs at 800-336-4644, x287.