May 19, 2014

8 win in NAFCU Annual Awards Competition

May 20, 2014 – Six individuals and two federal credit unions have been named the winners in NAFCU's 2014 Annual Awards Competition and will be honored during the association's 47th Annual Conference and Solutions Expo this July in Las Vegas.

"This year's annual awards winners are all exceptional leaders whose hard work personifies the dedication they have for the credit union industry," said NAFCU President and CEO Dan Berger. "NAFCU is thrilled to recognize our members for all of their extraordinary accomplishments."

This year's competition for the annual awards recognized the Federal Credit Union of the Year, CEO of the Year, Professional of the Year and Volunteer of the Year in each of two asset-size categories: $250 million or less, and more than $250 million.

The 2014 winners are:

Federal Credit Union of the Year

XCEL Federal Credit Union, Bloomfield, N.J. ($250 million or less)
Michigan State University Federal Credit Union, East Lansing, Mich. (more than $250 million)

CEO of the Year

Bill Nikolauk, 1st Community Federal Credit Union, San Angelo, Texas ($250 million or less)
Bob Marquette, Members 1st Federal Credit Union, Mechanicsburg, Pa. (more than $250 million)

Professional of the Year

Sarah Dale Harmon, Magnolia Federal Credit Union, Jackson, Miss. ($250 million or less)
Robin Brulé, New Mexico Educators Federal Credit Union, Albuquerque, N.M. (more than $250 million)

Volunteer of the Year

Peter Lupi, First New England FCU, East Hartford, Conn. ($250 million or less)
Bob Scott, Pentagon Federal Credit Union, Alexandria, Va. (more than $250 million)

The winners will be profiled in an upcoming issue of The Federal Credit Union magazine.

NAFCU's Annual Conference takes place July 22-26 at The Venetian Las Vegas Casino, Hotel & Resort and is open to NAFCU members and nonmembers. The deadline for early registration savings of $100 is May 23.