September 03, 2014

Cordray, House panel leaders join Caucus speaker slate

CFPB Director Richard Cordray and the chairman and ranking member of the House Financial Services Subcommittee on Financial Institutions and Consumer Credit are set to speak during NAFCU's Congressional Caucus next week in Washington.

Cordray will address attendees Sept. 10. House Financial Services Subcommittee on Financial Institutions and Consumer Credit Chairman Shelley Moore Capito, R-W.Va., and Ranking Member Greg Meeks, D-N.Y., will speak Sept. 11. The subcommittee plays a key role in all federal legislation affecting federally insured depository institutions.

Also joining the speaker slate is House Deputy Republican Whip Aaron Schock, R-Ill., who is also a member of the tax-writing House Ways and Means Committee.

The Caucus, NAFCU's credit union lobbying event of the year, is slated Sept. 9-12 at the Mayflower Renaissance Hotel and will address the most important legislative and regulatory issues facing the credit union industry today.

Other speakers confirmed so far include:

  • keynoter Stuart Rothenberg, editor and publisher of the Rothenberg Political Report and columnist for Roll Call;
  • NCUA Board Member Rick Metsger;
  • Sens. Mike Johanns, R-Neb., and Pat Toomey, R-Pa., both members of the Senate Banking Committee;
  • Rep. Maxine Waters, D-Calif., ranking member of the House Financial Services Committee;
  • Reps. Bill Huizenga, R-Mich., Robert Hurt, R-Va., Blaine Luetkemeyer, R-Mo., Mick Mulvaney, R-S.C., Patrick Murphy, D-Fla., Ed Perlmutter, D-Colo., Ed Royce, R-Calif., and Brad Sherman, D-Calif., all members of the House Financial Services Committee;
  • Treasury Department Acting Assistant Secretary for Financial Institutions Amias Gerety;
  • Freddie Mac Chief Executive Officer Donald Layton;
  • Ginnie Mae President Ted Tozer;
  • Financial Crimes Enforcement Network Director Jennifer Shasky Calvery; and
  • Council of Economic Advisers Chairman Jason Furman.

Also speaking are NAFCU President and CEO Dan Berger and the association's legislative and regulatory affairs staff.

Caucus registration is open to members and nonmembers.