April 29, 2020

NAFCU Board election ballots sent today; Schlehuber, DeWitt reelected to board

NAFCU headquartersThe official ballots for voting in NAFCU's 2020 board election are being sent to members today. The deadline for returning the ballots is May 13.

One of the at-large elections and the Western Region election are concluded, with Lisa Schlehuber (CEO, Elements Financial Federal Credit Union, Indiana) being elected to finish the last year of the at-large term she was appointed to in January, and Thomas DeWitt (President/CEO, State Farm Federal Credit Union, Illinois) being confirmed for another three-year term as Western Region Director.

There are two at-large seats available (three-year terms); nominated candidates include (sequence determined by lot by the election teller):

  • James A. Kenyon, incumbent (President/CEO, Whitefish Credit Union, Montana);
  • Karen C. Harbin (President/CEO, Commonwealth Credit Union, Kentucky);
  • Jackie Hoonjan (President/CEO, Pacific Cascade Federal Credit Union, Oregon);
  • Frank Mancini (President/CEO, Connex Credit Union, Connecticut); and
  • Brandon Ivie (President/CEO, Strata Credit Union, California)

The nominated candidates for the Southern Region Director (three-year term) include (sequence determined by lot by the election teller):

  • Melanie Kennedy (President/CEO, Southwest Financial Federal Credit Union, Texas); and
  • Rodney Showmar (President/CEO, Arkansas Federal Credit Union, Arkansas).

All elected candidates will take their board post following the close of the association's annual business meeting. While NAFCU's 53rd Annual Conference and Solutions Expo has been canceled, the annual business meeting will still take place June 23 at the association's headquarters in Arlington, Va., and via a virtual option. Those who are able attend in either capacity and wish to be the voting delegate for their respective credit union can RSVP to Senior Executive Assistant Leann Obermeier via email.