January 22, 2013

Some shuffling of House Financial services posts

Three subcommittee chairmanships within the House Financial Services Committee are changing hands this year, in part to deal with the departures of Judy Biggert, R-Ill., and Ron Paul, R-Texas.

Biggert lost her bid for reelection last year, while Paul eschewed a run for another House term to pursue a bid for the presidency.

House Financial Services Chairman Jeb Hensarling, R-Texas, released the list of subcommittee assignments Tuesday. Subcommittee chairs are as follows:

  • Scott Garret, R-N.J., Capital Markets and Government Sponsored Enterprises (unchanged);
  • Shelley Moore Capito, R-W.Va., Financial Institutions and Consumer Credit (unchanged);
  • Randy Neugebauer, R-Texas, Insurance and Housing (replaces Biggert);
  • John Campbell, R-Calif., Domestic and International Monetary Policy (replaces Paul);
  • Patrick McHenry, R-N.C., Oversight and Investigations (replaces Neugebauer).

Both Hensarling and Rep. Spencer Bachus, R-Ala., formerly chair of the full committee, will serve as "ex officio" members of all subcommittees, Hensarling said. Bachus, the full committee's "chairman emeritus," will also serve as a voting member on the financial institutions and capital markets subcommittees.

Rep. Gary Miller, R-Calif., is the full committee vice chair.

Several House panels, including Financial Services, hold organizational meetings this week.