August 29, 2014

Furman, Tozer join Caucus speaker list

Sept. 2, 2014 – Jason Furman, the chairman of the Council of Economic Advisers, and Ted Tozer, the president of government-sponsored enterprise Ginnie Mae, have joined the list of speakers for NAFCU's annual Congressional Caucus, slated for Sept. 9-12 in Washington, D.C.
The conference will be held at the Mayflower Renaissance Hotel and will feature sessions and discussions on the most important legislative and regulatory issues facing the credit union industry today, and on techniques for effectively communicating about those concerns with legislators and regulators.
The conference will also include a panel discussion on NCUA and how credit unions can better work with the agency, with a particular focus on the recent risk-based capital proposal. Former NAFCU Board Members Geoff Bacino and Michael Fryzel will be among the panelists.
Other speakers confirmed so far include:
  • Stuart Rothenberg, editor and publisher of the Rothenberg Political Report and columnist for Roll Call, who will give the keynote address;
  • NCUA Board Member Rick Metsger;
  • Sens. Mike Johanns, R-Neb., and Pat Toomey, R-Penn. – members of the Senate Banking Committee;
  • Reps. Bill Huizenga, R-Mich., Robert Hurt, R-Va., Blaine Luetkemeyer, R-Mo., Mick Mulvaney, R-S.C., Patrick Murphy, D-Fla., Ed Perlmutter, D-Colo., Ed Royce, R-Calif., and Brad Sherman, D-Calif. – all members of the House Financial Services Committee;
  • Treasury Department Acting Assistant Secretary for Financial Institutions Amias Gerety;
  • Freddie Mac Chief Executive Officer Donald Layton; and
  • Financial Crimes Enforcement Network Director Jennifer Shasky Calvery.
Attendees will also hear from NAFCU legislative and regulatory affairs staff, as well as President and CEO Dan Berger. NAFCU will update the conference program as more speakers join the roster; more information is available on the association website, where those interested in attending the conference can register. Registration is open to members and nonmembers.