January 07, 2019

NCUA completes planned redistricting of regional offices

mapThe NCUA's restructuring of its regional offices is now in full effect. These  changes, effective Jan. 1, reduced the agency's regional offices from five to three and the Albany (Region I) and Atlanta (Region III) offices have officially closed. 

According to NCUA Board Chairman Mark McWatters, "The time has come for the NCUA business model to change." The changes were aimed at creating greater efficiency, responsiveness and cost-effectiveness at the agency.

Additionally, the NCUA's remaining three regions have been organized geographically instead of numerically. The current regional offices and the states they serve are as follows:

  • Eastern Region, located in Alexandria, Va., will serve Connecticut, Delaware, the District of Columbia, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Vermont, Virginia and West Virginia.
  • Southern Region, located in Austin, Texas,will serve Texas, Oklahoma, Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Indiana, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, Puerto Rico, South Carolina, Tennessee and the U.S. Virgin Islands.
  • Western Region, located in Tempe, Ariz., will serve Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Guam, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Iowa, Kansas, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oregon, South Dakota, Utah, Washington, Wisconsin and Wyoming.

This planned restructuring was originally announced in July 2017.